Here I am!

Good evening, to anyone reading.

I’ve been MIA for a consecutive three years or so, popping by to say hello. I have toyed with the idea of creating a new blog but I have memories on her that (believe it or not) I do peruse sometimes when I’m feeling a little low. It is a part of my life so far and to create a new would feel like almost cheating on my journey so far.

Anyway, here is a little catch up on my travels since you last heard from me.

We visited Valencia in June 2016 after a very tough start to the year. It was a four day break were Tom and I were able to escape life for a minute. I feel sometimes when life (be it family, university, work, friends, life’s obstacles) is starting to feel suffocating, it is sometimes best to take a few days away. We were fortunate to spend that time in stunning Valencia, but even if you get in your car, on a train or put on your trainers and explore a new place, your mind is preoccupied with your adventure, and less with what is hurting your mind. This is exactly what Valencia was for us, and Valencia, we can never repay you for the light you shone on us during a very difficult time. Thank you.

IMG_1896

Llotja de la Seda

DSC00154

Evenings on the beach.

DSC00153

Hotel Neptuno, view.

DSC00201

Old Town.

IMG_1868

Beach babes.

Our next voyage was Lake Como, Italy in August 2016. I’ve briefly outlined the week in my previous postΒ Let me update ya..Β as Tom not only surprised me with the trip of a lifetime, but with the promise of a lifetime to be by my side as my husband and to share his surname with me. This holiday was my 25th birthday present and as mentioned in that blog post, I had no idea where we were going until I got to the departure lounge and the only flight on the board that corresponded with our take-off was to Milan *cue the tears of joy*.

Once we reached Milan, we were met by a wonderful man who drove us out of the airport to our next destination. I was under the impression we were staying in Milan until we turned a corner and I saw with my own eyes, what you see in magazines. Lake Como.

We travelled everywhere by boat, ate fresh pasta and pizza everyday and met the most amazing people from Como. It was the trip of a lifetime, one that I’ll never forget.

I am still pretty speechless at the lengths Tom went to for my birthday that year. He never ceases to amaze me, and this was no exception. Followed by my dream proposal, I honestly do not know what I did to deserve such a wonderful man who everyday treats me like a princess. Italy stole my heart that week, and we both intend on visiting and exploring more of the country.

IMG_2316

The view from our balcony.

DSC00303

Waiting for our boat home, in Como.

DSC00415

My view circa 10 seconds before Tom asked me to marry him. *Swoon*

DSC00382

This needs no caption.

DSC00491

A typical day travelling in Como.

We then celebrated Tom’s birthday in our home away from home, Amsterdam in November 2016. Amsterdam needs no introduction, no selling point or description. Amsterdam is beautiful, relaxing and everything we need from a city break.

I wasn’t feeling too well during this trip, however we didn’t let that stop us. We explored museums, ate our weight-worth in Dutch cuisine and as always had a wonderful time. It is our fourth trip to Amsterdam, and it certainly will not be our last.

IMG_0187

Dignity Amsterdam – Our favourite brunch spot

IMG_0219

Huddled in the pouring rain with hot chocolate.

IMG_0252

Banksy & Warhol Exhibition: laugh now

IMG_0300

OG

IMG_0302

The very handsome birthday boy!

The final stop on this whistle-stop journey of our travels since I last posted was a trip to Bruges with Tom, his mum and sister in May 2017. This was a Christmas present from Tom to us ladies, which none of us were in cahoots with. On Christmas evening we all received a present each. I opened a map of Bruges, his mum opened a tour-guide book of Bruges and his sister opened the DVD of In Bruges, the movie. It was left to us to figure out the rest.

Bruges is a really beautiful city. The canals are stunning, the shops are quaint and the food is fantastic! We were there for two days and despite it being enough to get the feel of Brugge, I definitely want to return.

Screenshot 2017-07-12 21.54.22

Bruges.

Screenshot 2017-07-12 21.54.36Screenshot 2017-07-12 21.54.52

Screenshot 2017-07-12 21.55.03

Family shot!

Screenshot 2017-07-12 21.55.10

Best Gin in Europe, that I’ve tasted so far.

 

So that is basically where I’m at, there are more travel posts to come and plenty of career-based posts too. As I always say, I want to try and write more as I find it so cathartic and just good for my soul.

Hopefully speak soon,

Emma x

Leave a Reply

