Mr Selfridge.

If anyone has been keeping up with the ITV drama, you will know exactly what I am referring to. However if you have been spending the last two Sunday’s hidden under a rock, you will need updating. ITV are currently showing a drama based on Harry Selfridge, the American dreamer who created London’s biggest shopping beauty – Selfridges. You meet and get to know the man who changed shopping for the masses. The man who made shopping “an experience“. If I am honest, I am addicted (and I hate period dramas).

So to carry on, now that we are all up to date with my TV programming priorities. I just want to take a brief few minutes to tell you the impact this programme has had on me.

Jeremy Piven has played the part of Mr Selfridge down to a tea. His the dreamer that we expect. Big ideas and little funds makes Harry quite the laughing stock, until he changes his ideas into material and his dreams into money.

I don’t know whether I should be thanking the writers, or Jeremy Piven – but I find the character such an inspiration. I have only just graduated university, and over the last few months since graduating I have discovered the feeling of hitting your head against that brick wall which separates you (stuck in reality), to your dreams and ambitions.

I am currently working in Private Healthcare, and I love it. Everything about it, from my daily duties to the people buzzing around the office. However I want to input my ideas, when I see adverts on TV and “Smoking Kills” campaigns. Don’t get me wrong, my passions lay in fashion and beauty but who is there to say I can’t turn my skills and education into material like Mr Selfridge does? I love the buzz of what I do, and the industry I have stumbled upon working in is a very lucrative, exciting and ambitious one to say the least – so why not blur my reality and my ambition?

Mr Selfridge has genuinely got me thinking. When people say “ah you can dream” and “maybe one day” – why not make that dream into a reality? And why not TODAY?

This may seem a silly whim driven post, but I am serious. Nobody else is in charge of what you can do? Why your put here on this earth is to (in my opinion) (no intentions to offend any religions or cultures) fulfil you! Living your life to its fullest and so when your on your death bed – all you can think is “that was fun“!

So why make your life a luke warm bath? Make it piping hot, with bubbles, aromatherapy candles and heck – a duck too!

Open a shop, that is different to every single other shop in the city. Take chances, hire too many people – give them an opportunity, and defy the odds and when people doubt you, stick two fingers up and say I’m doing it anyway.

Do it for you and be what you want to be, not what you should be.

Leave a Reply

